17

I was thinking that we should try to get this site covered by the gaming media when the public beta goes live. I'm collecting links to the "send us tips" pages for several gaming sites. I'm making this post a community wiki, so please update the list as you see fit.

Remember, the public beta will open on Wednesday, July 14 at:

  • US Pacific - 12 PM
  • US Eastern - 3 PM
  • UTC - 7 PM
  • BST (London) - 8 PM
  • CEST (Paris) - 9 PM
  • Sydney - 5 AM Thursday
  • 8
    I'd recommend that if anyone within the beta "knows" someone from any sites, use that channel instead. Using those contact pages is like shooting into the sky, something might hit, but most likely not. – Jesta Jul 13 '10 at 5:03
  • Great idea! ` ` – juan Jul 13 '10 at 14:28
  • xkcd and boingboing! – Ritwik Bose Jul 14 '10 at 2:25
  • 1
    see also: meta.gaming.stackexchange.com/questions/326/… – Kip Jul 14 '10 at 18:46
  • 1
    Out of curiosity, now that the public beta has been open for a few days, has there been any coverage of this site so far? – Brandon Jul 19 '10 at 19:56
4

This is great! Robert will work with you to coordinate -- he's on vacation at the moment but should be around early-ish next week to assist.

  • what kind of assistance/coordination were you thinking of? i was just thinking a lot of us could send in tips/emails to these sites when the site goes public tomorrow. – Kip Jul 14 '10 at 3:00
  • @kip just whatever we can do to help, mostly – Jeff Atwood Jul 14 '10 at 11:25
2

This is a great idea and exactly the type of activity we need to get this site going!

As @Jeff said, I'm here to help wherever I can. I don't know what I can do specifically with this list, but that's where you guys come in. I need ideas about we can do to help. You are much more engaged in the gaming world than us so these idea have to come from you.

On a related note, I am in the process of appointing a few members as provisional Moderators. Part of their role will be to provide leadership from within the community — dedicated focus and leadership. They can help us make sure that great ideas don't go un-pursued.

It's easy to write about good ideas. But actually acting on those ideas will bring this system to an entirely new level!

  • thanks for the help. i contacted all of these sites when the beta went public, but i haven't really seen it covered anywhere. i think we'll have better luck with a grassroots-type approach--just people mentioning this site on gaming blogs/forums. and, like SO, the site will only really take off when it starts showing up above gamefaqs in google results when people search for video game help – Kip Jul 24 '10 at 3:03
0

NeoGAF would also seem like a good place.

  • It's CW, so feel free to add it in yourself :-) – Ivo Flipse Jul 15 '10 at 7:02

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .