11

Today I went to review a few things as it showed that there were a few things to review in the queue, however when I clicked on the review button, there was only 1 suggested edit though the indicator which has always showed the number of suggested edits showed 5. I reviewed the edit and finished clearing the other queues and refreshed the page and it still shows 4 things to edit, but my queues are empty. Is this a bug, or something that is a result of hitting 10k rep? I haven't ever had this happen before today, and today is the first time I have reviewed anything since hitting 10k rep.

review queue indicator number

empty review queues

11
  • This is by design: there are 4 review tasks still in the queue total. You can review 0 of them because you either already have, or you skipped them.
    – Unionhawk Mod
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 18:03
  • @uni I haven't ever had this happen before today, did something change this weekend? I have reviewed many things that require multiple reviewers and have been the first reviewer and not seen this. Does 10k allow you to see how many things are in the review queue or something?
    – Dragonrage Mod
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 18:08
  • 4
    the bug itself is definitely not new, see for example meta.stackexchange.com/questions/237845/… or meta.stackexchange.com/questions/238472/… or this answer meta.stackexchange.com/a/238699/165776
    – KutuluMike
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 18:10
  • @Dragonrage I believe this is 10k behavior, yes
    – Unionhawk Mod
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 18:11
  • @uni fwiw it has now changed to 5, and I still have nothing to review. I'm not missing any new review queues or anything am I?
    – Dragonrage Mod
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 18:19
  • Have you recently suggested edits to tags?
    – Robotnik Mod
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 21:15
  • @Robotnik no, I have not.
    – Dragonrage Mod
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 21:16
  • OK, just checking because that's what happened to me a few years back.
    – Robotnik Mod
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 21:24
  • 1
    I noticed the exact same thing at 10k. I assumed it was to alert me to more in the tools (eg. new delete votes)
    – user106385
    Commented Jul 5, 2016 at 22:43
  • Same for me at reaching 10k
    – Aequitas
    Commented Aug 8, 2016 at 3:39
  • Same happened at 10k
    – ave
    Commented May 3, 2017 at 19:12

1 Answer 1

3

According to Jarrod Dixon,

Review is probably our heaviest database hitter, so we've had to add caching to those counts; usually it's 5 minutes on them.

So this is a status by design via caching.

1
  • Bit annoying to hear. I thought though since at 10k you can vote to delete posts, and that the number was reflective on posts that could be voted on as well. Guess not.
    – Timmy Jim Mod
    Commented May 4, 2017 at 13:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .